2 Cool Fishing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Probably shouldn't go here, but WTH!!

7K views 87 replies 44 participants last post by  Kyle 1974 
#1 ·
OK, let me start by saying that I'm all about hunting. My life revolves around the sport, as it is not only my passion for my so called "spare time" but also how I make my living and support my family. No, I'm not an outfitter or a big-game ranch owner or manager. I work in the field of Wetlands Conservation Engineering. I grew up hunting not only waterfowl along the Texas coast but also deer in the East Texas Piney Woods. Now for the point of this thread.

I am constantly seeing pics of deer that are followed by comments that suggest taking a particular buck out because you certainly don't want him spreading his genes around to the does. Believe me, I understand the science of manipulating traits with geneology. I just have an issue with, ok, I'll go ahead and say it........"playing GOD" with these animals that are a wild, natural resource that belong to EVERYONE, not just those that can afford to high-fence their 10,000 acre private petting zoo! OK, so he may only 3 on the left, so he's not gonna get your name in the B&C, or whatever the latest scoring craze is this season, KILL HIM!!! We certainly don't want him to breed, that would result in more deer for future generations that may not be PERFECTLY SYMETRICAL! So what!!!??? I got a bum knee, should I have been "taken out" so that I wouldn't have offspring who may possibly have bad knees?????..................or poor eyesight?????...............or be succeptable to heart disease?????

There was also an earlier post that reported the sale of a particular buck for $600,000! For a supposedly "wild" animal!!!