2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

Need deer hunters help...

2K views 17 replies 14 participants last post by  eastmattycjh 
#1 ·
I am very new to deer hunting. I lucked out and had my boss take me to his low fence ranch in south texas this year. I shot my first doe, my first two hogs, and my first "cull" buck. No matter that it was a cull or not i was excited beyond belief. In fact i know where i live in east texas that this deer would've been a huge buck, so i definitely know how lucky i am. I have only duck hunted growing up and i still do that religiously but I have been bit and bit hard by the deer bug. My wife tells me if i get a deer lease i have to give up duck hunting. Well i can't give up duck hunting so i'm looking at trying out some public deer hunting land. I'm about to get some maps of the national forest around me and try to scout it out this spring and summer and gps some locations. What i need help with is some advice on a game cam. I'm thinking about putting up a game cam in some locations that i scout out and see what frequents the area. I know its risky and can get stolen but i'm thinking about climbing a tree and putting it so its not at head level for someone to see. And i'm willing to walk a couple of miles to try and get where most people don't go. Has anyone had any luck with the satellite game cams? I wonder if they can get a good signal out if they are put in dense woods? Or do you have any game cams you would recommend. Here is a picture of the buck i killed. Its getting a shoulder mount done as we speak... he is a main frame 6 point but had two kickers at his base. one was an inch long and the other i could call it a texas point and hang a ring from it.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·