2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

SHOTGUNNERS

3K views 33 replies 22 participants last post by  daddyeaux 
#1 ·
I looking for some advice. I am new to shotgunning and have realized I am a right-hand shooter that is left eye dominant. Anyone have advice on how to deal with this? Right now, I am not interested in trying to learn a left-hand shooting stance. I have been practicing with skeet and trap before I try an actual bird hunt. If I shoot with only the right eye open during a skeet session, the clays coming from the high house while I am on the 2nd and 3rd station tend to pass up my line of sight and it causes me to have to catch up to the target. When I have both eyes open, the left eye is dominating the image of the gun barrel which throws my shot off.

#2 ·
I have the same problem. I have just learned to close my left eye and shoot with only my right eye open. It does cause some problems, but I can't do anything left handed. I can't even pick my nose left handed, much less shoot a gun left handed. I have shot quite a bit of skeet and it is awkward, but I just made it work.

Professor Jones

#3 ·
You have three choices. Continue with both eyes open and severely limit your ability to ever become a good shotgun shot. Switch to shooting left handed. Or wear glasses and "black out" the left eye glass- I know this sounds radical, but you'd be amazed at how many competitive shooters actually do this.

Last week I was helping one of my son's friends to learn how to shoot a shotgun- first time. I saw that he was lining up way off where I was asking him to- way off. I then did a quick check for his dominant eye- yep left eye dominant shooting right handed.

Best of luck,

THE "RIGHT EYE DOMINANT AND GLAD OF IT" JAMMER

#4 ·