2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

Predator Calling

1K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  warcat 
#1 ·
So I've got a wild hair about doing this.... I've never done it before and would like some tips. Not sure if it was a good move, but I bought a mini digital call very similar to this (didn't want to spend a heckuva lot of money on something that I've never done before):
http://natchezss.com/product.cfm?co...odID=ELMP602&prodTitle=MINI PHANTOM -PREDATOR

A few questions for the experts...

Will this call work? Where/how should I set up? Which sound works best for cats (bobcat)? I'm planning on trying it out with my .223 right after deer season. I've seen a bobcat or two on game cam along with the coyote howls every evening... Any tips would be great!

#3 ·
Camo, camo, and more camo. Cover up everything. Be really still. Yotes will try and circle to wind you so be ready. Cats normally just come in to the call. Set the call a good ways from you. Might add a wounded rabbit or some moving type decoy near the call to get them to focus on it. However if the yotes have not had any pressure may not need it. Once you shot move to another location that is out of hearing range. Good luck

#4 ·
I'm thinking of setting up in the middle of a field in a small patch of brush. That way I've got a view all around me... Is that the right plan? Also, since the call I bought seems to be a handheld (mini), should I keep the call on me, or still set it out away from me?

These animals have never been pressured, and should come right in (at least I would think they would??). I'm really looking for a cat, but if I get yote shots, I might take them.

#5 ·
I have one of those, but I added one of these to it. http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2104031
You can add almost as much speaker wire as you want and put a mini headphone plug on the end. It plugs right into the caller. That way the varmints come in to the speaker and not you.