2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

New Hunting Club Advice

2K views 14 replies 13 participants last post by  thatdoggJake 
#1 ·
The company I work for recently dropped our lease of 30 years in which I had the opportunity to manage or play the role of Camp Master. Fortunately, I was able to work out a deal with the land owner to continue the legacy. In my previous role, I had full authority from establishing rules to harvest allowances. Now, with a "club" of equally paying members, I'm having a hard time developing rules that are fair and worth the members dues while still maintaining the lease I've helped develop over the years. I've been a very strict manager and held a hard line on harvests around mature animals,culls or ratio adjustments. I could really use some 2 cool advice here especially around the following:

Harvest- What is fair number of animals per member while holding a hard line on management?

Guests- How many? Harvest rights?

Anything else that you might think of you would appreciated.

Ted

#2 ·
In my opinion it should be a family lease with one trophy,cull and does accordingly.If there are a few older spikes showing up in different places they should be taken as well usually by the wife or kids.And then all the hogs and other varmints.Any management minded hunter shoulnt have a problem with rules.As far as any other guests besides the family i would say bring them in the off season or for extended doe and spike season if there is one.Any other time they shouldnt be allowed to hunt.