2 Cool Fishing Forum banner

25-06 Questions?

2K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  willielancon 
#1 ·
I have a Ruger M77 25-06 and was wondering about putting a heavier barrel on it and a Thumb Hole Stock.

Is this action even worth it?
Can it be done?
What would you say the costs would be? (low, middle, and high)
Who would you recomend to do these things?
How long would it take?

This is my first year to be hunting out of a blind and thought I could do these things and not have to worry about the weight of the gun.

Can't think of a better place to have my questions answered!

#2 ·
Before I would go to all of that-- what do you want to do it?? How is the gun shooting now? What kind of groups are you getting and with what ammo. If you are getting groups of 1 1/2" or better, and all you are doing is hunting, I would just leave it alone. If you are not getting those kinds of groups, then I would first try some other loads, before I would go to all of that other trouble.

Does a thumb hole stock and a bull barrel automatically make a gun more accurate?? Not necessarily. I shoot a little Remington Model 7 with a light weight 20" barrel, and I can shoot 3/4" groups with it all day long with 95 gr ballistic tips. No thumbhole stock, no bull barrel. I believe that there is a load which will match up to almost any gun. You just have to find it.

I just bought a new Springfield 40 s@w XD sub compact. It wouldn't shoot Hornady TAP's or hydra shocks inside 4-5" off the bag at 50'. Whereas my handloaded 155 gr speer gold dot's loaded over 10.5 gr of blue dot, will shoot inside 2". Every barrel has different harmonics.